Calm in the storm

What do you do when you find yourself in the plight of raging storms of life? A season where everything seems to be out of control – nothing seems to be going as expected, people finding reasons to discourage you, talking about and behind your back, dark clouds plaguing around you. Life events taking on different turns and everything you’ve worked hard for seems to somehow fall apart? The storm rages on and on….

In the recent months, I’ve encountered the plight of the raging storm. Discouragement surfaced as resources diminished, friendships soured, people seemed to walk away; always busy and unreachable, the storm continued to rage as my body attacked. It all seemed like I had the worst of seasons, at times life felt like I was all alone but God’s grace and love enveloped and embraced me each day.

You see; during this season I learned to rest in the finished works of Jesus. I discovered that when I rested, I found Grace (God’s unmerited favor). Resting in the finished works of Jesus was a work of faith. My faith needed to be strengthened, renewed and uplifted. I had to give up charge and”control”giving it all to the Lord. I called it my season of grace; season of calm in the storm; season of great sacrifice; a season where I would be required to purge, get rid of some things and come out victorious with great lessons.

How can I rest while the storm continues to rage you may ask? I sort time with the Lord, spent time listening and reading the word of GodI learned that when I rest, I receive God’s best!

Hebrews 4: 3 (KJV) For we which have believed do enter into rest, as he said, As I have sworn in my wrath, if they shall enter into my rest: although the works were finished from the foundation of the world.

This scripture’s revelation to the storms was that although life situations and circumstance continued to sour and the storm raged, there was calm in resting in the Lord. All the works were finished from the foundation of the world. Nothing I was going through surprised God; my job was laboring to rest in Him. The subtle reminder that I wasn’t tasked with more than I could handle. I quickly learned that the way I react to a problem makes it a problem! I can easily tell my problems about God and weather the raging storm.

You see; laboring to enter into rest (trusting the calm, reliance in God) can be tough during these times when you want to be in charge and “in control”. The biggest challenge was learning how to rest in my source of strength, my calm in the storm – God. That while the storm continued to rage, I could find my calm – by resting in God. Focusing all my energy in the knowledge that God’s got my back and He is able to do exceedingly abundantly more than I could ever ask or imagine (Ephesians 3:20). Working hard NOT to continue worrying and being anxious about my issues or circumstance but to find my rest (calm) in the Lord.

In closing, the Lord reminded me of this scripture Philippians 2:13 (NLT) For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. That when I relinquish my will and desire to control, the need to be in charge to Him while the storm rages, He can manage it all because He is working in me and giving me the desire and power to do what pleases him.That when I finally can say ” Lord, I cannot but You can, take my “old” want to and give me my “new” want to”. I rest in His favor, goodness, faithfulness, mercy, love and all power while He leads and guides me through the raging storm. All I can do is rest in Him.

Faithful C.C👥

 

Author: Life of purpose

Passionate and ablaze to create a better society for our Now and Tomorrow.😎

Leave a Reply

