Depression (A story) 

Depression is an illness like any other, and is misunderstood by a vast majority of our population. Unfortunately, many people see depression as something completely in the persons control,when that’s not the case. My posts for the most part stay on the comedic side, but sometimes you just have to be serious. I’ve met so many people that treat depression like its something we can change. We all need to understand that depression is like a broken bone or any sickness. You can’t just get over it and hope real hard that it’ll heal or go away. It takes time and care to improve. Depression takes time to recover from and it’s difficult for those who have never experienced it, to understand.

I’ve personally had depression and have depressed days here and there, but for the most part I’m doing very well (yay). But I did have someone in my life who just could not understand what I was going through. No matter how much I explained, or how many metaphors I made to try and get it through his head, he couldn’t see that depression was not the road I chose, but a hole I fell down, and no matter how far I climbed up, I could see no light; no escape. He would tell me to look on the bright side; to pay attention to all the things I did have, and not what was lacking in my life or what was going wrong. He also told me other people had It worse. This isn’t something someone (who has depression) wants to hear. It makes them feel like their problems are minimal and unimportant, and far from understood.

I couldn’t understand how he couldn’t understand.

So I googled basic definitions for him, and stories of people like me. Metaphors and basically any article that said what I said: I didn’t choose to have depression, and it’s not as simple as just looking on the bright side.

This guy I tried explaining depression to was my boyfriend at the time. Long story short, He never understood. I tried and tried for two hours straight, getting more frustrated by the second, to help him see what I see, in hopes of maybe having his support and understanding. But It’s hard to see what It’s like without going through It. So to end my story here, I’ll be listing symptoms and some things to help you understand what it’s like, and maybe you can support someone with it.

Symptoms of Depression:

  • Doesn’t seem to care about anything anymore.
  • Is uncharacteristically sad, irritable, short-tempered, critical, or moody.
  • Has lost interest in work, sex, hobbies, and other pleasurable activities.
  • Talks about feeling “helpless” or “hopeless.”
  • Expresses a bleak or negative outlook on life.
  • Frequently complains of aches and pains such as headaches, stomach problems, and
  • back pain.
  • Complains of feeling tired and drained all the time.
  • Has withdrawn from friends, family, and other social activities.
  • Sleeps less than usual or oversleeps.
  • Eats more or less than usual, and has recently gained or lost weight.
  • Has become indecisive, forgetful, disorganized, and “out of it.”
  • Drinks more or abuses drugs, including prescription sleeping pills and painkillers.
  1. Depression can run in the family, just like other illnesses.                                                   My mother has depression, and so does my older sister. So, yeah. It is hereditary.
  2. “It feels like everyone else is in color, while you are black and white.”                          I found this metaphor for depression online (I don’t know who came up with it). This is one of the most ACCURATE metaphors I’ve seen. Most of the metaphors don’t really feel real to me, until I saw this one. You feel as if everyone is having a great time, being great, and enjoying life and just loving each other, and you just can’t for some reason. You don’t feel “colorful”.                                                                                                                                              
  3. The best way to help someone who is depressed, Is by being there when needed, and listening.                                                                                                                                           I noticed that during my semester, it was almost impossible to be depressed because I made new friends and saw them everyday.                                                                                                                                                                                                    
  4. Depressed people often say things they don’t mean. You have to understand that they can be emotionally unstable.                                                                                                   I found that when I was depressed, I would lash out in anger to those closest to me. And I would say sorry a million times because It was something I couldn’t help and I didn’t mean. Remember that we sometimes can’t handle the emotions at hand and we feel horrible afterwards.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
  5. Depression can’t be “fixed”.                                                                                 If you know someone with depression, don’t try to “fix” it. We are not broken people, we are not malfunctioning. We just need support. Only we can truly help ourselves, but we need support and care and love to push ourselves to get better!

I’m not depressed anymore. I may have some days where I think I am, but I’m just sad. The best advice I have for people to get out of the hopeless hell that is depression, Is to love yourself before anything. Give yourself the adoration you want from others. The same respect and care you want people to treat you with; give it to yourself. Once I found my worth and learned to love what I see in the mirror and what’s in my heart, my depression started to fade away. Its easier said than done, so to just help out a bit, I might write a little guide on starting to love yourself..

If you have depression, don’t let it get to you too much.

Faithful C. C 👥

Author: Life of purpose

Passionate and ablaze to create a better society for our Now and Tomorrow.😎

Leave a Reply

