Bless the Lord, O my Soul

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
    and all that is within me,
    bless his holy name!
Bless the Lord, O my soul,
    and forget not all his benefits,
who forgives all your iniquity,
    who heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit,
    who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
who satisfies you with good
    so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

The Lord works righteousness
    and justice for all who are oppressed. Psalm 103:1-6

When I read this Psalm, I immediately realize the call of God for personal praise from His children.  Personal praise means one to one – God and me [God and you]. The Psalmist says “Bless or praise the Lord, O MY soul.”  It’s as if he is speaking to himself, exhorting himself, speaking a Word to himself, preaching over himself…as though he felt the opportunity would pass him by if he didn’t stir himself and deliberately begin to bless the Lord and do it, now. 

What a daily privilege and blessing to focus on the Lord in worship, giving Him thanks and blessing His Name.  The blessing of waking up each morning and declaring, “This is the day that the LORD has made; let us [I’m gonna] rejoice and be glad in it (Psalm 118:24).

I believe blessing the Lord should be our first response and purpose to the day God has given. First, because He is worthy of our blessing. Secondly, because the distractions will cause the day to pass us by without our having our “one on one with God.” There is always something that gets in the way, especially in this age where we have our gadgets right beside the bed. There is always a reason to go for the phone or tablet first, right? We must check the weather or check the time or even read Scripture.

I have learned it is best for me to begin the day with blessing the Lord before my eyes open and continue on in prayer and the Word before the gadget ever is looked at…because there is always a distraction waiting there.

The opportunity to bless the Lord without the distractions of the day will pass us by, no matter our good intentions, if we are not diligent about putting first things first. If we are not focused on blessing our Lord for Who He is, thanking Him for what He has done, what He is doing, and what we believe by faith He will continue to do in our lives, families, community, world; we will come to the end of the day never having experienced the intimacy of time alone with God which truly is our source of joy, hope, and strength.

David speaks to himself, stirring his own soul, communing with his own heart, focused on fellowship and communion with His God.  He knows one thing and one thing only, at this moment he must, he’s got to, he can’t help himself, he must bless the Lord!

When I was very young in Christ, I didn’t understand this whole thing of me blessing God.  I mean, how could that be – after all He’s the Sovereign, Most High, Awesome, Mighty, The Great God I AM and I’m just little ole me, as this Psalmist says in verse 14, I came from dust.  How in the world could “I”, could “dust” bless this Great God? 

Let me share with you what God has taught me over the years and is still teaching me right now. He has assured me I had one part right. He truly is the Great, Awesome, Mighty, Sovereign, Creator, Holy and Righteous God and I live, move and have all my being in Him, without Him there would be “no” me. As one song writer says, “I can’t even walk without holding His hand.”

It is true; every good and perfect gift comes from Him. The Lord is the Blesser! He has blessed us with His love, grace, and mercy. He blesses us with His salvation, favor, protection, provision, hope, peace, comfort and joy. He is our shield, refuge and very present help. He is the All-powerful, All-knowing, and Always present God. I could go on and on but let me sum it up by saying as one writer put it, “man is blessed of His heart and His hand only.” Amen. 

He is altogether holy, righteous, pure and perfect – He lacks nothing and nothing can be added to Him. Anything and everything we offer to the Lord already belongs to Him. 2 Peter 1:3, “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” “The earth is the Lord‘s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein (Psalm 24:1a). As the older folks would say, “He is God all by Himself and He doesn’t need no one else [in order to be God]. He is the All-Sufficient God, whole and complete in and of Himself.

What a Great God! He did not leave me alone with my finite thinking but He taught me that despite by being made from dust and my life being like a vapor, I can still bless this Awesome God. We will discuss on Thursday but the verses below show us that we bless the Lord when we acknowledge His Divine Name and Word with fervent love, devotion, and passion.

“I bow down toward Your holy temple and give thanks
to Your Name for Your steadfast love and Your faithfulness,
for You have exalted above all things
Your name and Your word.” Psalm 138:2

“O Lord, our Lord,
how majestic is Your Name in all the earth!” Psalm 8:1

Faithful C. C👥

Author: Life of purpose

Passionate and ablaze to create a better society for our Now and Tomorrow.😎

5 thoughts on “Bless the Lord, O my Soul”

Leave a Reply

