Speak grace to yourself.

There’s always a moment. A moment when you decide ‘this is it’. That you’re going to be more than just normal. You’re going to live the life you want to live. The moment you know your life is about to change.

I have tried to think carefully about what I would like to share and I must admit that I have been a bit hesitant. No, not because I’m embarrassed (I’m a fairly open book) but because I think there’s an inherent danger in beautifying our “failures.” I think when people contribute and choose “failures” that are trivial (and I use the word with the utmost caution), it does little for the reader who is going through something much more…intense. There’s an insane pressure to choose failures that you can wrap up as fortune cookie lessons. I did not want to glorify the experiences that have led to my growth.

There was a period in high school when I watched girls being ruthlessly bullied by some of my classmates.(and so I remained silent) in fear of being targeted. It took time for me (I was 100X more shy than I am now) to speak up. This empowered me to embark in a career in law and #standup and also help protect those that need protection. I learned that FEAR is paralytic. The desire to be accepted by peers is intense. Even if you stand alone, it feels better than standing with people who espouse problematic ideologies. The reality of it all is, you need to live up to your personal set of values – not everyone else’s.

Today, No matter where I am in life, I am always looking up and aiming higher. That’s not because I am not proud of my accomplishments and it’s certainly not because I’m ungrateful. It’s because I constantly push myself to learn more, gain more and do more. Life is too short to think small. It’s too short to be content with the bare minimum. I never want to look back and think “I should have done more.” I always want to look forward and think “I can’t wait till I get there.” So remember you did not wake up to be mediocre. You’re so much more.🌟Believe that!

Give yourself grace, and push yourself to being the best version of yourself possible. God bless you.

Faithful c.c

Author: Life of purpose

Passionate and ablaze to create a better society for our Now and Tomorrow.😎

Leave a comment